PDA

View Full Version : business or economics? urgent

fire
08-01-2012, 02:02 PM
Hi all,

currently, i am an economics year 1 student. however, i am keen to change to business but i am not sure if it is the right choice.

that is because i am not really sure will i like business if i switch over.when i browsed the internet, most advice is that economics is a better degree than business as business is very general and you learn nothing much . however, i am sure i want to work as a banker in the future and so far, economics seem very theory based and i want something more practical. nonetheless, i do enjoy some parts of economics. please advise, as if i switch over, i will waste around 20 k ...

Malefucius
08-01-2012, 04:30 PM
if you want something more 'practical', major in science related courses or go to a trade school. the 'practical' part of business isn't conducted in business school (unless they force you to create your own start-ups as part of the course).

if you mean 'practical' as in 'higher chances of finding employment', then sorry but i can't help you there without knowing which country you're in or plan to work in.

if you want to be a banker (what sort of banker?) then the most important thing is internship and work experience, not so the major you graduated with. either way, most people majoring in business/econs/finance/accounting more or less qualify for jobs in the banking & finance sector.

given your situation, if you still want the best of both worlds, I'd suggest you stick with economics but minor in business (or take up one or two business modules if you can) at your university. that way you can sample business courses and get a real feel or it. you can always drop them if it doesn't suit you. still a way better option than switching completely and regretting it (much less wasting 20k if that's a concern to you).

kitchentable
08-01-2012, 04:57 PM