PDA

View Full Version : Having some doubts

mageicial
05-07-2013, 08:37 PM
Hello, I'm currently studying in my 2nd year in polytechnic, so I'm doing some homework in advance.

1) I see that some people mentioned in previous threads that polytechnic students are classified as transfer students. Is this true?

2) What's the difference between freshman and a transfer student? Any advantage or disadvantages?

3) I see that universities such as MIT only accepts transfer students who have not completed more than 2.5 years of college (does this mean that people who study in polytechnic are not accepted?)

4) Some say that you only pick your major when in the second year of study. Is this true and does it apply to transfer students as well?

5) Double major means studying two things during the period of study right?

6) After getting my diploma, I have to finish my NS before going to university as I cannot defer NS right? After NS, am I still considered a transfer students (considering that I have not studied for quite some time)
"Harvard College encourages admitted students to defer enrollment for one year to travel, pursue a special project or activity, work, or spend time in another meaningful way - provided they do not enroll in a degree-granting program at another college. Deferrals for two-year obligatory military service are also granted. Each year, between 50 and 70 students defer their matriculation to the College."
Does this mean that if I got enrolled into Harvard, but I need to serve NS, they will allow me to attend school 2 years later without applying again?
If that's the case, then should I apply directly after I get my diploma and then apply for deferment in Harvard?
Considering that you can only apply to some universities once per year, if I got rejected for the first time, I can apply 1 year later when I'm still serving NS, and again after my NS.
So I can have 3 chance?