PDA

View Full Version : Poly grad to LACs & "Above average" unis

Bobblehead
11-25-2013, 10:12 PM
Hi all, I am a NYP grad (Business IT) with a GPA of 3.3 (With such average grades local Us would be impossible to enrol in) Regretted playing during my first year but no use crying over split milk.

I am currently serving the nation with 14 months left to go till I ORD! (Thank god...) Hahaha

I've taken the SATs 1 with a relatively good score of 2300 (Math:760 Writing:780 Critical Reading:760) Should I take SATs 2? I plan to major in Business.

CCA:Ultimate Frisbee Team. NYP Ultimate Frisbee is the best in the country with us winning the IVP (highest school/tertiary competition where all Unis, Polys and JCs compete) since 2005-2011. In 2012 we clinched 3rd. And the Poly-ITE (2nd highest competition) where we have been reigning champions since 2010 to 2013.

I have worked for MNCs during my school breaks and did a 1 semester internship. Wonder if these would help in my admission essay and would recommendations from my former employers help too? THanks

The schools I am eyeing are Wesleyan, Trinity & Connecticut College (Highly favoured as relatives are living in Middletown CT) Pomona and Amherst. Other places would be UT Austin, UMich AA & UMinn TC. Fees would be ok especially if I get into any of the CT schools as it is only at most an hour's drive away from my relative's house (Only pay for tuition and not room & board I believe? Since I live off campus.)

Family income is upper middle class and parents would not mind paying for a quality education. (Both siblings Uni grads thus they say it is imperative I graduated from Uni and I feel the same way too.) (Parents are prudent and would like to save as much, I would be shouldering 30% of the fees too so I would like to get it as low as possible as well. Having a grant would be really good, wonder if Amherst still has the blind-need initiative.)