PDA

View Full Version : Should I even consider retaking SATs and applying?

SK1994
03-23-2014, 04:08 PM
Hello

I'm in my 2nd year of National Service. Currently I have a placing in SMU for Information Systems Management, but I have been considering applying to Universities in the US. However, I am not sure whether my portfolio is competitive enough to merit an application as the universities which I am interested in are really good ones. My details are below

SAT Scores
Math: 710
CR: 640
Writing: 750
Composite: 2100

A Level Grades (very very mediocre)
H3 Physics (NTU Semiconductor Physics and Devices): Pass
H2 Physics: B
H2 Chemistry: B
H2 Math: D
H1 Economics: B
H1 GP: E
H1 PW: E
H1 MT (Tamil): D

My CCA Records and Work Experience
JC External CCA: NCC, Cadet Lieutenant
JC Orientation Group Leader for 2012 Orientation
Did a small Internship on Engineering-Marketing with an SME run by my Dad's Friend, No certificate or anything, just referral letter if required.
Combat Engineer in the Army

Interested Universities
Stanford
Berkeley
Carnegie Mellon
UCLA

Interested Majors
Finance, Mechanical Engineering, CS, IS

I am also considering taking the GREs during my term in SMU and considering applying for a postgraduate degree in the US. THis will help give me some time to beef up my portfolio.

Any and all constructive comments are welcome

havok_ex
03-23-2014, 05:07 PM
Hello

I'm in my 2nd year of National Service. Currently I have a placing in SMU for Information Systems Management, but I have been considering applying to Universities in the US. However, I am not sure whether my portfolio is competitive enough to merit an application as the universities which I am interested in are really good ones. My details are below

SAT Scores

Did a small Internship on Engineering-Marketing with an SME run by my Dad's Friend, No certificate or anything, just referral letter if required.

Interested Universities
Stanford
Berkeley
Carnegie Mellon
UCLA

Interested Majors