PDA

View Full Version : do Singaporean students need to take TOEFL??

rongsquare
10-31-2009, 10:44 PM
hi pardon for being a noob here. do we need to take TOEFL for US uni application? or does it depend on different uni's requirement?

koo86
10-31-2009, 11:21 PM
hi pardon for being a noob here. do we need to take TOEFL for US uni application? or does it depend on different uni's requirement?

It depends on the uni requirement

Run
11-01-2009, 12:32 AM
It depends on the uni requirement

Agreed. Even if they do, most universities are willing to waive the TOEFL requirement if you score decently on the SAT. :)

koo86
11-01-2009, 06:51 AM
Agreed. Even if they do, most universities are willing to waive the TOEFL requirement if you score decently on the SAT. :)

I concur :p

rongsquare
11-01-2009, 11:57 AM
actually im pretty confused. most uni webpages states that need to take toefl if u are not from english speaking countries... it doesn't really ans me whether i need to take or not... is it possible for anyone of you to share ur experience if u actually need to take toefl? assuming im applying to UCBerkeley, Stanford, Michigan,AnnArbor, CALtech and UIUC. thanks :D:D

Run
11-01-2009, 06:18 PM
actually im pretty confused. most uni webpages states that need to take toefl if u are not from english speaking countries... it doesn't really ans me whether i need to take or not... is it possible for anyone of you to share ur experience if u actually need to take toefl? assuming im applying to UCBerkeley, Stanford, Michigan,AnnArbor, CALtech and UIUC. thanks :D:D

Actually, many universities consider Singapore as an English-speaking country, since our lessons are conducted in English.

koo86
11-01-2009, 11:30 PM
Actually, many universities consider Singapore as an English-speaking country, since our lessons are conducted in English.

Hmm this one i doubt so, I've got a friend who got accepted into Uni of Chicago, he's an A lvl student by the way and he was required to take Toefl