PDA

View Full Version : Qns: Mapping out my choosen path. (Fresh out of A level exam 2010)

3x3c1n3ery9uy
12-22-2010, 11:44 PM
Hi everyone, I am a student that had just graduated from a Singaporean Junior College, and had sat for the local A levels exam in November 2010.

To start off, I would like to say a few things about what I would like to do when I am in my mid 30s. My end goal in mind is that I wanted to gain and synthesize knowledge, especially on the quantum mechanics part. (I wanted to earn a PhD in theoretical physics, as I realized that this is the best way to acquire knowledge as there are resources available to me.)
I like to read up on theories in general, through I do not like the practical aspect of physics.

As for my other interests, I do like reading up on history and philosophy, however, my history is limited to the history of physics and the post modern world (starting from world war 1 till now), and my understanding of philosophy is shameful. (I read through a bit of epistemology.)

As for my path, there are two obvious path that I can take. I could either take NUS/Science or I can take the NTU/physics or applied physics, then hopefully, I could do well and go on to a masters/PhD in other universities.

So as for the question that I would like to ask the knowledgeable/enlightened ones:

1) How different is the NUS/Science course as compared to the NTU physics course? When I mean different, I do mean their teaching philosophy or concept, whether they focus more on practical approach or they do elaborate theoretical constructs about different physical principles? This will lead this question, which two courses are better for someone who wants to specialize in theoretical physics)

2) Is there any reputable overseas university that I could apply to further my studies in physics?

Thank you for your patience in reading the question and hope to hear a reply soon.

TL;DR, what path should i take to end up as a theoretical physicist?

billthegeek