PDA

View Full Version : Common Application - Poly

miyavvii
05-17-2011, 05:00 PM
Hi there,

I was intending to apply to the universities in USA. However, I have some doubts in regards to the common applications. Hope you guys out there could help me out.

I am from a polytechnic background. Thus, most of the informations I have obtained were not of much help.

Some background infos:
(1) I have a diploma in aerospace electronics from Ngee Ann : GPA 3.81
(2) I have taken the SAT II ( Math II and Physics ), both 800. I am intending to take the SAT I soon.

As I am currently serving NS, I was wondering if the US universities allows me to defer for a year ?

For the common application, I was wondering, what do they mean by secondary school ( I think this may sound weired ).
I found these mentioned:
- Secondary Schools
- Current or most recent secondary school attended
If I were to enter my secondary school results, there will be no places for my poly grades. Please advice. Thanks

shadowboxing
05-17-2011, 07:22 PM
Hey I'm from Ngee Ann too and have done Common App (the cycle the ended this Jan).

When they say secondary school, just add in your diploma results.
There's a field where you can add "Additional Info" - that's where I put my O level results.

Under secondary schools, I can't remember right but if you can put more than 1 school, then put in your secondary school too.

In US their grades go like this: 9th - 12th grade

So the way I took it was 10th - 12th Grade in Ngee Ann and 9th grade as my O level year.

Likewise, when they ask for recommendations by secondary school teacher, you can approach your course manager or lecturer.

I can't answer your question about NS though because I'm not a guy! Sorry!

mengshuen
05-17-2011, 09:01 PM
Certain schools don't allow for deferment. These are mainly state schools (California and Illinois), while the privates allow (at least, most of those "common" ones).