BrightSparks Forum

Go Back   BrightSparks Singapore Scholarship & Higher Education Forum > Career Issues > Career Issues > Medicine, Dentistry & Healthcare
Click Here if you forgot your password.

Old 01-23-2008, 12:39 AM   #1
wendy

wendy has a neutral reputation
Default overseas Universities offering medicine

Hi, I'm a student currently waiting for the release of A level results. I am aware that NUS is the only university in Singapore that has medicine as one of its discipline. If I would like to pursue studies overseas such as in UK, USA and Australia, what would be some of the decent medical universities that I may consider?

Moreover, I would also wish to enquire about scholarships associated with Medicine in Singapore and overseas, and the available grants, loans, trusts that some overseas universities have in place for medical students.

Thanks a lot (:
wendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 04:02 PM   #2
Michelle
BrightSparks Expert

Michelle has a neutral reputation
Default US Medical Schools

Medical schools in the US are graduate schools, meaning you need to have done an undergraduate program first before you can enrol. Competition is very tough so your undergrad GPA and MCAT (Medical College Admissions Test) score must be very high. It takes 3-4 years of undergrad college + 4 years of medical school + 3 years of residency at a hospital = 10-11 years. A pretty long time...

Here are some criteria for an MD program which will vary from school to school:
  • Your undergrad degree should be from a US college (the verifying body AMCAS will not verify foreign degrees) and preferably 4 years long
  • You need to have studied science subjects like biology, chemistry, life sciences at undergrad levels.
  • Some schools like top ranked U Washington only accepts citizens or perm residents.
  • You will be asked to write quite a few personal statements.
  • You are
likely to be interviewed.

2008 Top Medical Schools
Provided by U.S.News & World Report