BrightSparks Forum

Go Back   BrightSparks Singapore Scholarship & Higher Education Forum > University > Local > NUS > Health Sciences (Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy, and Nursing)
Click Here if you forgot your password.

Closed Thread

Old 03-08-2009, 10:55 PM   #1
a_p

a_p has a neutral reputation
Default Answers to FAQ on NUS Medicine Admissions, Interviews, Disruption and Appeals

Moderator-copied. Original post here.

hi im a current student in the school of medicine. let me just give a quick overview of the admission system as far as i know it to be. admission scores into med comprises both a university score and a faculty score. both are worth equal weightage.

The university score is calculated by the office of admission and is a standardised admission score for all faculties of the university.

Took this from the office of admissions website:
To compute your University score you would include:
the best four content subjects (i.e. 3 H2 and 1 H1 content subjects, with at least 1 content subject to be from a contrasting discipline)
either GP or KI grade taken in the same sitting
H1 Project Work
The maximum points for H2 and H1 subjects are 20 and 10 respectively.
We will include in the scoring your best MTL subject grade (e.g. ‘H1’ MTL or ‘O’ Level Higher MTL) only if you present the result for consideration and only if it raises your University Score.

Correct me if im wrong, but this basically puts your maximum attainable score at 90. basically what this means is that your H2 subjects are worth doubly as much as your H1 subjects, including PW and GP. of and yes you absolutely have to do chemistry at H2. and either biology or physics. theres no exception to this rule. H3s/S papers do NOT count at all towards your admission score. they only serve as brag factors in your CV/interview.