BrightSparks Forum

Go Back   BrightSparks Singapore Scholarship & Higher Education Forum > Career Issues > Career Issues > Law
Click Here if you forgot your password.

Old 06-27-2016, 10:24 AM   #1
choliszt

choliszt has a neutral reputation
Default Does having an engineering degree help you if you switch to being an IP lawyer

Hi all,

I am currently studying engineering. Doing well in grades but seriously dislike it: cannot imagine doing this for the rest of my life. I am looking at switching my career path: get a graduate LLB from NUS or JD from SMU and do intellectual property law: likely patent related.

I have asked this to law professor before but want to get more opinions: Does my experience in engineering help me in becoming a better lawyer of intellectual property? I know it probably does in terms of understanding the patents but also in terms of pay rise. I need to make up for the lost years with accelerated pay rise and my competitive edge would be having knowledge in both fields.
choliszt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 11:11 AM   #2
acidgal

acidgal has a neutral reputation

For what it's worth, glad you've made the decision to switch to a field you're likely to be more interested in! Your interest will sustain you as you pursue a career in the field, that's for sure.

Not quite sure if you'd get a pay raise.... but still you should use your combined knowledge in two fields as leverage for future employment opportunities. You know what they say - Uni is about more than just acquiring theoretical knowledge. It's about being given the opportunity to stretch your mind and potential. I'm sure your situation will definitely give you an edge. But whether that translates to a pay raise.... maybe you shouldn't be too hopeful!

This might not have been the most helpful reply but I wish you all the best in your endeavours! You're on to great things
acidgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 03:10 PM   #3
Cavaliere