BrightSparks Forum

Go Back   BrightSparks Singapore Scholarship & Higher Education Forum > Career Issues > Career Issues
Click Here if you forgot your password.

Old 05-27-2008, 10:22 AM   #1
admin
Administrator

admin has disabled reputation
Default Tourism & Hospitality

Q:
I am a JC student sitting for A levels at the end of this year. I'd like to know more about the different degrees regarding tourism/hospitality/F&B the universities in Singapore offer. From what I have found out, I realised that only Nanyang Business School in NTU offers such degree regarding what I want. Am I missing out on anything?

With regards to the scholarship from STB, could you please tell me more about it?

A:
Indeed, NTU is currently the only autonomous university to provide tourism & hospitality studies, unless NUS/SMU decides to offer tourism studies, which is not likely to happen in the near future. NBS even plans to have a separate hospitality school in the future, but that will take time. The quality of tourism studies in NBS is likely to be good, as Cornell University (Ranked No. 1 in the world in hospitality education) is involved in the planning of its curriculum and some of their lecturers actually do guest lectures in NBS as well.

However, take note that Hospitality & Tourism Management is a specialization that NBS students choose to enter at the end of year one. It is highly competitive as only 50 places are offered at the moment, with no intention to increase the number of places in the near future. Selection will be based on marketing results (B and above to be considered), in addition to a written essay and an interview. So it’s good to have some relevant experience to support your interest.