BrightSparks Forum

Go Back   BrightSparks Singapore Scholarship & Higher Education Forum > BrightSparks Community > BrightSparks Cafe > JC & Poly Campus Talk
Click Here if you forgot your password.

Old 04-12-2010, 07:45 PM   #1
EduSeeker

EduSeeker has a neutral reputation
Default Importance of Portfolio

Hi all. I am currently a JC2 student, going to take 'A's this year. Recently, I've been thinking how my portfolio is doing. And I must say it isn't really very good. Had a chat with my family doctor recently and she told me results matter most. I understand that this is a indisputable fact but it set me thinking. So how important is one's portfolio in terms of getting into a uni course and getting scholarship?

And just to digress from the main question for a while, when did you seniors start preparing for 'A's? Just to get myself ready and to make sure I'm on track.

Thanks in advance!
EduSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 11:17 AM   #2
Haecceity

Haecceity has a neutral reputation

Getting in to local unis: the grades are definitely important. They don't want your portfolio (except maybe SMU, who wants your CCA stuff...) generally, unless you're going for courses which require a portfolio, such as NTU's Art, Design and Media (which requires stuff from secondary school days).

The only time the portfolio matters for uni admission, generally, is if you're going through discretionary admission. This is mostly because you want to bolster your chances for getting in, and your academic results don't quite make the cut. Or, you're going for a really competitive course (which I think you are, since you're speaking to your family doctor - are you aiming for medicine?).

Scholarships look at your portfolio. While your grades are still important, they still look at your portfolio. It is quite important.